Skip to content

Online Poll – VOTE NOW

November 28, 2017

FOLLOWING constructive conversations between ourselves, DFC and the lads who are looking to bring along a drum to home matches at the YOUR Radio 103FM Stadium, part of the process is to try and gauge the thoughts of Sons fans who attend games regularly.

The poll, below, is quite straightforward and we hope that as many fans will take part as possible.

There is also a comments section for anyone who votes to offer constructive observations – abusive postings will be deleted.

The poll will be open for 1 week, so plenty time to get involved.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Andy Crawford permalink
    November 28, 2017 7:40 am

    A good idea but don’t fancy sitting beside it!

  2. David Ferguson permalink
    November 28, 2017 9:54 am

    I find it sad that it’s come to the point where we need to canvass fans to find out if we’re happy to have some boys enjoying themselves at the ground. I took a drum to few games when I was younger and there was nothing like this sort of carry on, the people who didn’t want to be next to it moved and the people who liked it joined in. Where do we draw the line? I’m sick of listening to folk shouting “SORT IT OUT AITKEN” or “THIS IS RUBBISH DUMBARTON” every week, if I complain about them can we have a poll on whether or not we allow these folk back?

  3. thughes permalink
    November 28, 2017 7:34 pm

    I welcome the guys making a bit of atmosphere at the Rock, God knows we could do with it. Give the boys an area where they can play their drum and sing to their hearts content.

  4. Drum Major Reggie Mental (Rtd) permalink
    November 29, 2017 8:03 pm

    I think we should do everything to encourage the lads to come along, support the club, generate an atmosphere, sing, chant, make a noise etc. A bit like last night except for the kicking of lumps out of the stand. Seriously, it is good to have the boys along and I wish them all the best…..however……

    Drums are great when played by…er… drummers and as an accompaniment to music. They are not great as a solo instrument – even drum solos by proper drummers, are when most concert goers disappear to the bar or the loo – and solos only last 5 minutes! Random solo beating of a drum at the fitba all the time doesn’t create an atmosphere, it creates a racket. It might be alright as an accompaniment to singing or chanting and possibly just bearable.

    I didn’t know whether to boo or cheer when the steward confiscated the drum at the match v Elgin. I did think the way it was done was wrong but also that two wrongs don’t make a right. I therefore didn’t boo…or cheer. I just quietly appreciated that the drum had stopped.

    I see I’m in a minority though and that people are generally content to hear adolescents beating an animal skin with a daud of wood and producing 85 decibels of irritating noise.

    Nurse! my earplugs!

Leave a comment