Skip to content

Ex-Dumbarton Man Does Well

February 7, 2011

AS FAR AS most Sons supporters are concerned, Walter Smith is best known as a defender who joined Dumbarton from Dundeed United in 1975, staying 18 months and playing in the famous Scottish Cup semi-final against Hearts.

These days, so I’m told, he’s the manager (for the second time) of some football outfit or other who play in the SPL and wear blue…

Seriously, though – under the glorious headline Helensburgh man Walter Smith gets ready to stand down as Rangers manager, Sonstrust member and Lennox sports reporter Andy Galloway has conducted an exclusive interview with the Scotland, Ibrox and Boghead legend.

In the bit that will especially interest Sons fans, Smith says: “I had taken my coaching badges by the time I came to Dumbarton – I was 24 when I got my coaching certificates. It was early when I realised I wasn’t going to be that good as a player, and the boys at Dundee United went on to be an extremely successful team.

Alex Wright then asked United boss Jim McLean if I could go to Dumbarton. I went there and had an enjoyable time with Alex and Davy Wilson in charge. I then returned to Dundee United but, once you have played for a club, you always feel a bit of affinity towards them.”

You can read the whole interview, with some background from Andy, here.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

